The file architecture of RoboForm 8 has been significantly improved to offer more secure and flexible options to share RoboForm Data with trusted contacts and colleagues.
Dual Master Password is not compatible with RoboForm 8 and has been discontinued.
As a way of providing read-only access to Logins, RoboForm 7 allows for a two part Dual Master Password separated by a backslash. Entering only the portion preceding the backslash provides limited access rights while entering the the full Dual Master Password (both portions before and after the backslash) gives full access rights.
Outside of utilizing the Dual Master Password feature, the only way to share RoboForm Data in Version 7 is to use the built-in emailing option to select an individual RoboForm file (single Login, single Safenote, etc) and send it either encrypted or unencrypted. When an encrypted file is shared, the password is separate from the Master Password and has to be known by the recipient in order to use.
Dual Master Password is not supported in RoboForm 8. A more robust secure Sharing functionality is included that uses public-private key encryption.
In Version 8, the email sharing option has been replaced by a more robust secure file and folder Sharing. This allows for sharing RoboForm Data without sharing the Master Password with the recipient. The business version also has Group Sharing. If you need to share more than one folder you can learn more about our business solutions here.
Sharing and Sending allow for selection of a trusted recipient to securely receive access to RoboForm Data. All are based on public-private key exchange and data is encrypted end-to-end. All decryption is local only.
With folder Sharing the sender provides the recipient's email and permission level. Updates are synced to all recipients and access can be revoked at any time.
With file Sharing the sender provides the recipient's email. Updates are synced to all recipients and access can be revoked at any time.
With Sending, the sender provides the recipient's email. Updates to the shared data are not synced, there are no permission levels, and access cannot be revoked.